A look at who was elected in each ward

Several fresh faces will be making up Calgary’s city council after Monday’s vote. Only three incumbents will be returning to their seats at the table.

Two people who’d represented Calgarians previously but were not re-elected in 2017 are making a comeback this time around.

Here’s a ward-by-ward breakdown of the new city council:

Ward 1:

Sonya Sharp was the choice among Calgarians in the northwest communities that make up Ward 1.

She may be new to council, but she’s not all that new to the inner workings of the city. She worked at the City of Calgary for over 20 years.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 1

In her platform, she promised transparency from City Hall, promised to protect Calgary’s green spaces, and promised to use taxpayer money wisely to bolster the economy.

Sharp captured 45 per cent of the vote and had an 8,915-vote lead over second-place Steve Webb.

Ward 2:

Longtime councillor Joe Magliocca was voted off the island Monday after being caught up in a spending scandal near the end of his last term as a councillor.

Those living in Ward 2, in the northwest alongside Ward 1, instead chose Jennifer Wyness to represent them.


Wyness ran in the 2017 election but came up short.

This time around, Wyness claimed 48 per cent of the votes and had a 5,751-vote lead on second-place Kim Tyers. Magliocca was a distant third, getting 10 per cent of the vote.

Ward 3:

Olympian Jasmine Mian will be the new representative for Ward 3, filling the seat left open by the city’s new mayor, Jyoti Gondek.

The competitive wrestler claimed nearly a third of the vote in north-central Calgary and had a 2,292-vote lead on second-place Brent Trenholm.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 3

Mian ran on a platform promising a downtown revitalization plan, improving transit in the area, and accountability from City Hall.

Ward 4:

It seems incumbent Sean Chu has barely managed to hang on to seat at the table.

The race in this ward was incredibly close. Chu captured 43 per cent of the vote but only had a 100-vote lead on second-place Daniel James (DJ) Kelly, who claimed 42 per cent of votes.

Given how close the race was, Kelly and his camp requested a recount but that request was denied.


Chu was the recent subject of a CBC story that alleged the councillor had been in a relationship with a 16-year-old girl during his time serving as a police officer in the city.

Chu responded, confirming that he had been disciplined for the relationship, but said he didn’t know the girl was underage as they met at an establishment where minors were not allowed.

Ward 5:

Raj Dhaliwal came out on top in the hotly-contested Ward 5 after the seat was left open by now-Liberal MP George Chahal.

Chahal left his spot as councillor to run for the Liberals in the federal election last month.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 5

Dhaliwal won by 378 votes, capturing 28 per cent of the vote.

Hot on his heels was second place Stan Sandhu and third place Aryan Sadat, with 26 and 23 per cent of the vote respectively.

Ward 6:

A familiar face will be filling the councillor’s chair in Ward 6.

Richard Pootmans, who served as a councillor from 2010 to 2017, has been elected again in the southwest.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 6

Pootmans’ top concern on his platform was creating safer communities in his ward.

The seat was left open by Jeff Davison, who gave up his spot to run for mayor. Davison was a distant third in the race, behind Gondek and Jeromy Farkas, who were in a dead heat for a good chunk of the campaign.

Ward 7:

Terry Wong was elected in Ward 7, capturing a quarter of the votes.

There was no incumbent in this ward, which covers sections of the northeast and downtown core, after longtime councillor Druh Farrell announced earlier this year she would not be seeking re-election. She was first elected back in 2001.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 7

Wong edged out second-place Erin Waite by 653 votes. He touts a collaborative approach to tackling issues facing the ward in his platform.

Ward 8:

Teacher and basketball coach Courtney Walcott has claimed victory in Ward 8, with 31 per cent of the vote going his way.

The seat was left open by outgoing councillor Evan Woolley.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 8

Walcott ran on a platform of creating a transit-rich city, reimagining and refocusing economic growth, and reimagining housing in the inner-city ward.

Former TV reporter Gary Bobrovitz trailed Walcott by 2,645 votes.

Ward 9:

Incumbent Gian-Carlo Carra will be serving Calgarians for another term, but it wasn’t without an edgy race to the finish.

Carra narrowly beat Naomi Withers, capturing 36 per cent of the votes.

Withers trailed Carra by only 161 votes, but did request a recount that was denied.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 9

Carra was first elected in 2010, then re-elected in 2013 and 2017.

Ward 10:

Andre Chabot came back to win his old seat as councillor in Ward 10.

Chabot previously sat on council for Ward 10 before the boundaries were redrawn in 2017, when he also ran for mayor and lost. He is a former three-term city councillor that ran on a platform of bringing his veteran skillset back to chambers.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 10

Ward 10’s council seat was left vacant last year when Ray Jones retired due to health issues, so there was no incumbent to beat.

Chabot won with 33 per cent of the vote, defeating Abed Harb and nine others.

Ward 11:

First-timer Kourtney Penner will take the chair after a tight race that saw her narrowly beat Rob Ward by just under 900 votes in a district with 37,678 ballots cast.

When Jeromy Farkas decided to run for mayor he left Ward 11’s seat up for grabs.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 11

Penner ran on financial issues like bolstering the economy, investing in community parks and integrating smart technology into city infrastructure.

According to Penner, Farkas has reached out to help her coordinate ward transition, as she gets settled into the new job.

Ward 12:

Like Ward 10, Ward 12 was left vacant after Shane Keating decided not to run for re-election.

With no incumbent to topple, Evan Spencer came out on top with 39 per cent of the vote.

RELATED: 2021 Municipal Election breakdown: Ward 12

Spencer campaigned on a conservative platform, similar to that of his predecessor, due in part to working closely with Keating at the Ward 12 office.

His website shows his focus for Ward 12 will be spending smarter, improving livability, and growing jobs.

Ward 13:

Incumbent Diane Colley-Urquhart was handed an embarrassing defeat, collecting 23 per cent of the vote in a race with only two other candidates.

Dan McLean will be the new face of Ward 13 going forward, he earned 46 per cent of the vote, outperforming Jay Unsworth’s 30 per cent.

RELATED: 2021 municipal election breakdown: Ward 13

Colley-Urquhart served as a councillor for more than 20 years and seven terms since the year 2000, she was knocked off by McLean’s platform of changing city leadership and fiscal responsibility.

McLean was also endorsed by conservative heavyweight MP for Ottawa-Carleton Pierre Poilievre, as well as local MP for Calgary-Midnapore Stephanie Kusie, and MLA for Calgary-Shaw Rebecca Schultz.

Ward 14:

Peter Demong managed to keep a firm grip on Ward 14 and is one of the few returning city councillors following this election.

Demong destroyed the three other candidates that ran against him, taking home 66 per cent of the vote and earning over 20,000 ballots.

RELATED: 2021 municipal election breakdown: Ward 14

He’s been Ward 14 councillor for nine years and will continue to serve the area in his fourth term.

Top Stories

Top Stories

Most Watched Today